Everything you need to know about buying Devil May Cry 5.

So, you’ve decided that you want to purchase Devil May Cry 5, the latest instalment in Capcom’s hack and slash franchise. But, you’re not sure which version to purchase? We’ve got you covered. This guide will detail all the different versions of Devil May Cry 5, as well as any other buying options. Since the game has now been released, this guide will not cover pre-order bonuses as they’re no longer relevant.


Devil May Cry 5 is available on PC (Steam), PS4, and Xbox One.

There are 2 different versions of Devil May Cry 5: the Standard Edition, and the Deluxe Edition. If you own the Standard Edition, you have the option to purchase an upgrade to the Deluxe Edition.

Finally, Devil May Cry 5 has microtransactions.

Standard Edition

The standard edition includes the base game.

Deluxe Edition

The Deluxe Edition includes the base game, and the following additional content:

  • Devil Breaker weapons: Gerbera GP01, Pasta Breaker, Sweet Surrender, Mega Buster
  • Dante weapon: Cavaliere R
  • Battle music: 3 tracks each from Devil May Cry, Devil May Cry 2, Devil May Cry 3, and Devil May Cry 4
  • Alternative voices: Style Rank Announcers, Title Calls
  • Live Action Cutscenes

Take care to read the following note (taken from the Steam Store page) regarding additional content:

Note: Devil Breakers and alternative music/voices/cutscenes are usable from mission 2 onwards. Dante weapon Cavaliere R can be used after acquiring the the Cavaliere. Use the Gallery > Jukebox option to change music/voices and the Options > Cutscene Customize option to change cutscenes. Live Action Cutscenes voice audio is in Japanese only.

If your curious about the Live Action Cutscenes, you can view the official trailer below for a sneak peak:


Finally, the game has microtransactions which allow you to purchase Blue Orbs, and Red Orbs. UK pricing (on Steam), is as follows:

  • 1 Blue Orb — £0.79
  • 3 Blue Orbs — £1.69
  • 5 Blue Orbs — £2.49
  • 100,000 Red Orbs — £1.69
  • 200,000 Red Orbs — £3.29
  • 300,000 Red Orbs — £4.99
  • 500,000 Red Orbs — £7.99
  • 1,000,000 Red Orbs — £15.99

Blue Orbs are used to obtain permanent health boosts. Red Orbs are used to unlock skills, and upgrade abilities.

It’s important to note that both Blue Orbs, and Red Orbs, can be earned in-game for free. So the microtransactions can be considered “optional”.

That’s everything you need to know about buying Devil May Cry 5.

Did you find this guide useful? Let us know.