All the winners of The Game Awards 2018.

The winners of The Game Awards 2018 have all been announced, after all the nominees were revealed last month. The awards ceremony was once again hosted by Geoff Keighley, and took place at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

God of War wins 3 awards, including Game of the Year. However, Red Dead Redemption 2 is the overall winner, taking 4 awards. Interestingly, Celeste wins 2 awards for Best Independent Game, and Games for Impact. Amazingly, Overcooked 2 wins Best Family Game despite being up against Nintendo’s catalogue.

A disappointing evening for Marvel’s Spider-Man as the game won no awards, despite being nominated for 7.

Unsurprisingly, Ninja wins the award for Content Creator of the Year.

All the winners of the The Game Awards 2018 are as follows:


  • Game of the Year – God of War
  • Best Action Game – Dead Cells
  • Best Action/Adventure Game – God of War
  • Best Role Playing Game – Monster Hunter: World
  • Best Game Direction – God of War
  • Best Narrative – Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Best Ongoing Game – Fortnite
  • Best Art Direction – Return of the Obra Dinn
  • Best Score/Music – Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Best Audio Design – Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Best Independent Game – Celeste
  • Best Performance – Roger Clark, As Arthur Morgan, Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Games for Impact – Celeste
  • Best Mobile Game – Florence
  • Best VR/AR Game – ASTRO BOT Rescue Mission
  • Best Fighting Game – Dragon Ball FighterZ
  • Best Family Game – Overcooked 2
  • Best Strategy Game – Into the Breach
  • Best Sports/Racing Game – Forza Horizon 4
  • Best Multiplayer Game – Fortnite
  • Best Student Game – Combat 2018
  • Best Debut Indie Game – The Messenger


  • Best Esports GameOverwatch
  • Best Esports PlayerDominique “SonicFox” McLean
  • Best Esports TeamCloud9
  • Best Esports CoachBok “Reapered” Han-gyu
  • Best Esports EventLeague of Legends Word Championship
  • Best Esports HostEefje “Sjokz” Depoortere
  • Best Esports MomentC9 comback win in triple OT vs FAZE
  • Content Creator of the Year – Ninja

And that’s The Game Awards wrapped for another year. Be sure to check out all the juicy announcements from The Game Wards 2018, if you haven’t already done so.

See you next year for our coverage of more awards!